1. Education

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

Tennessee State Capitol

In Tennessee's early history, four different towns served as the seat of government: Knoxville, Kingston, Murfreesboro and Nashville. Nashville was chosen as the permanent capital city in 1843. The capitol building was designed by noted architect William Strickland, who died during its construction and is buried within its walls. Marble quarried in Tennessee was used for the primary building material. A magnificent example of Grecian architecture, the building was begun in 1845 and completed in 1859.

Subscribe to the Newsletter

Return to Tennessee Unit Study

Courtesy of State of Tennessee

Image by Art Explosion 600,000.

©2017 About.com. All rights reserved.